Best Poems of 1955: Borestone Mountain Poetry Awards, 1956

Stanford: Stanford University Press, 1957.

Price: $175.00

Hardcover. First edition. A trifle bumped at the crown else fine in very good dustwrapper with chip at the bottomof the front panel. A small poetry anthology that is particularly noteworthy as Sylvia Plath's first book appearance, preceding the rare offprint *Sculptor* by two years. After contributions from a host of already-established poets there is a small "Undergraduate" section which contains two Plath entries: "Aubade" and "Two Lovers and a Beachcomber by the Real Sea." Also includes an entry from James Wright, his first book was published this year was well. Other contributors include Robert Frost, W.H. Auden, John Ciardi, Donald Hall, Richmond Lattimore, Anne Morrow Lindbergh, Louis Macneice, W.S. Merwin, Howard Moss, Louise Townsend Nicholl, Adrienne Rich, Theodore Roethke, May Sarton, Louis Simpson, Robert Penn Warren, John Hall Wheelock, Richard Wilbur, James Wright, Dannie Abse, Eric Barker (First Prize), Thomas Blackburn, J.R. Brownfield, Jean Burden, Kenneth M. Cameron, Grace Carnot, Charles Causley, Robert P. Tristram Coffin, Barbara D. Cooper, Allan Donaldson, Leah Bodein Drake, Carleton Drewry, Evelyn Eaton, Thomas Hornsby Ferril, David Ferry, Robert Francis, Frances Frost, Jed Garrick, Kenneth O. Hanson, John Heath-Stubbs, Elizabeth Henley, Robert Horan, Elizabeth Jennings, Dilys Laing, Joseph Langland, Fred Lape, Norman MacCraig, Harold Grier McCurdy, Jackson Morris, David Morton, Thomas Moult, Hubert Nicholson, Gloria Rawlinson, Alastair Reid, Dorothy Roberts, James L. Rosenbert, Arthur M. Sampley, Ernest Sandeen, Marcia Masters Schmid, Burns Singer, Radclive Squires, Jean Sewell Standish, Margaret Stanley-Wrench, A.M. Sullivan, Robert A. Wallace, Peter B. Walsh, Lynne Lawner, Donald Lehmkuhl, Henry D.M. Sherrerd, Jr., Richard Roe, and Barbara Stewart. A nicer than usual copy – the thin paper jacket is very prone to tearing.

Item #292300

item image

Item #292300 Best Poems of 1955: Borestone Mountain Poetry Awards, 1956. Sylvia PLATH, James Wright, Richard Wilbur, John Hall Wheelock, Robert Penn Warren, Louis Simpson, May Sarton, Theodore Roethke, Adrienne Rich, Louise Townsend Nicholl, Howard Moss, W. S. Merwin, Louis Macneice, Anne Morrow Lindbergh, Richmond Lattimore, Donald Hall, John Ciardi, W. H. Auden, Robert Frost, Robert Thomas MOORE.

Sylvia Plath
birth name: Sylvia Plath
born: 10/27/1932
died: 2/11/1963

View Reference Info


American poet whose best-known poems are carefully crafted pieces noted for their personal imagery and intense focus. Many concern such themes as alienation, death, and self-destruction. She was little known at the time of her death by suicide, but by the mid-1970s she was considered a major contemporary poet. - Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of LiteratureAmore

Collecting tips:

Email us to request a printed copy of our catalog of Sylvia Plath Rare Books and First Editions (or download it via the link as a 2.76 MB pdf file).more